Book Of The Month-April

book of the month2017.png

Lilian Boxfish Takes A WalkImage result for lillian boxfish takes a walk genre

Title: Lilian Boxfish Takes A walk

Author: Kathleen Rooney

Published: 2017

Genre: Realistic Fiction

 Lillian Boxfish Takes A Walk is a fantastic read and one that draws you in right until the very end. Lilian Boxfish is a character I will never forget, and her adventure is a story I will hold close to my heart. I am not sure how I wound up reading this novel, but I am glad I did.

“In my reckless and undiscouraged youth,” Lilian Boxfish writes, “I worked in a walnut-paneled office thirteen floors above West Thirty-fifth Street…”

On new year’s eve of 1984, eighty-five-year-old Lillian Boxfish is on her way to a party. It’s cold out, and New York is not the same city that Lillian fell in love with in the 1930s.

“Extraordinary…an unabashed celebration of human connections that bridge the past and future.”

-Publishers Weekly (starred rewiew)

However, our favorite savvy poetess decides to go out for a walk. Along her stroll that takes her more than ten miles through the city, she meets people from all walks of life and tells the readers about her exciting adventures when she was younger.

Lillian figures she might as well take her time. For now, at least, the night is still young.

“There is a little Lillian Boxfish in all of us. And if there isn’t, there should be.”
-Julia Claiborne Johson, author of Be Frank With Me

I would recommend this book to readers who like a little historical fiction, and a lot of sass in their characters. People who like reading about other people and their stories would enjoy this book immensely. I loved this book’s story, but the real reason I loved it so much is because of Lillian Boxfish. Her character is one that is difficult not to adore, and everything about her is absolutely fantastic.

I hope you will enjoy this book as much as I did,

-Jacquelyn R.

Do you have any ideas, suggestions, or things you would like to see on Food For Thought? Tell me all about it on my Contact Page and follow this blog to watch your suggestion become reality!

Leave a comment, idea , or suggestion

